SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - October, 2005

Name:   Prakash Krishnamurthy

Marital Status:  Married

Location:  Oak Hill, VA

Hometown:  Chennai, India

Children:  One 9 year old Girl, Aarthi

Age:  35

Occupation:  Sr. Database Architect

Current motorcycle(s):  Yamaha Roadstar

How did you hear about the SCRC and when did you join?
A colleague of mine, who is a member of the Potomac chapter introduced me to the club.

How long have you been riding?
I learned to ride a motorcycle at the age of 8. My uncle would let me ride his Enfield 175 (also known as the mini Bullet) when my dad was not watching. He would start the bike for me (Kick start, there was no way I could get it started) and hold it so that I could climb up. When I came back around, I would slow the bike down enough for him to catch me!!!

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?
Yes. I have taken both the MSF courses. The Beginners and the Experienced. I would like to go on the ERC every year.

What was your first bike?
The first bike that I owned (with my own money) was a Royal Enfield 350 (Click on this link for a picture)

How many bikes have you owned?
Three. 1993 Royal Enfield 350, 2003 Yamaha V-star 1100 Classic, 2002 Yamaha Roadstar.

Why do you ride?
As you might have noticed, my license plate reads "UNLSHD". Its the feeling of freedom!!

Have you ridden with an organized group before?
Nope - this is my first group.

What modifications have you done to your bike?
I have added aftermarket exhaust, seats and an airhorn.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?
As Brad said in his feature last month, there is no limit to the term "accessorize" :-)

What is your dream bike?
Goldwing!!! But that may change when something else comes out ;)

What kind of riding do you like to do — straight-aways or twisties?
Scenic roads, Mountains, wide sweeping curves. It all depends on my riding for that day. If I have a destination that I have to be at, I like to take the fastest route. On a leisurely ride, I just point the bike in that direction and keep going.

What is your favorite riding route?
So far, I like most any route that goes through the mountains in WV. The Skyline drive, Blue Ridge Parkway, Dragon, and some other roads around the TN/NC border areas are worth a ride anytime!!

Do you ride your bike to work?
Yes. As long as there is no snow/ice/salt on the road or if it is not raining when I leave the hosue.

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
100 mph

What is your favorite time of year to ride?
No favorite season. But Spring and early fall can be really enjoyable.

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?
Yes. Twice and very seriously injured. But these happened in the early days of my riding. Both my accidents were on my dad's scooters. The first on a Lambretta and the second on a Bajaj!!! I learnt, the hard way, never to push your abilities past your comfort limit.

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?
Yes. Two of them. I have successfully completed the Saddlesore 1000 (1000 miles in 24 hrs.) and the Bun Burner 1500 (1500 miles in 36 hrs.) But, I am still waiting on the certification from the Iron Butt Association.

If not, what is the furthest you’ve ridden?
I have ridden my motorcycle in the entire Northeastern USA. I have also ridden as far west as St. Louis, MO and also up into Canada.

What was the worst weather in which you’ve ridden?
I have ridden through thunderstorms, hail, cold days with temperatures down to sub zero and also a light snow!

Do you know how to work on your bike?
Not really. But with the help of friends and books, I am ready to tackle it.

What is your favorite road song?
Nothing specific. Sometimes, I like to listen to some old tunes from Indian music. On others, I do not listen to anything but the wind whistling in my ears as I ride on!!

What was your most adventurous ride?
My Bun Burner 1500. I decided on the spur of the moment and took off on a Friday afternoon from work. I did not make any special preparations at all. I took a look at the map and figured that I'd just head west towards St. Louis and come back home by Saturday evening!!

What rallies or events do you like to attend?
I am not big on rallies. Though I would like to check out some.

Is there someone who rides "two-up" with you?
My wife / daughter ride with me occasionally, but that is restricted to within the local town.

Off the cuff from...Prakash
Live and Let Live

Life is too short to be fussing about things. Enjoy every moment and do not forget to thank God for all that he has given you!! I have enjoyed every moment of my time spent with the Loudoun chapter. I consider all of you my 'friends'. Though I try hard to make it to every meeting, every ride, every event, I do miss out on a few.