SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - May, 2008

Name:   Sue Radloff

Nickname:   MrsRadical

Marital Status:  Married to Soarer.

Location:  Ashburn, VA

Hometown:  I am originally from Florida and my parents still live in Orlando. Steve was in the Air Force so we traveled a lot stateside and decided to retire in Virginia (it was his last assignment).

Children:  We have three boys, Eric (27), Nathan (17) and Mark (15 almost 16).

Age:  :)

Occupation:  I am currently working for Loudoun County Schools as a Kindergarten Teacher and have been doing this for 11 years and LOVE IT!! When I first graduated from high school in Florida I attended a two-year nursing program and received an associated in science. At the age of 20, I was working at Florida Hospital as a Registered Nurse. So as you can see teaching is a rather new career field for me, but it is another caretaker position. Kindergarten is great! It is probably the only grade where the teacher is able to see the most academic improvement in her students in a ten month period and therefore the most rewarding. It is a wonderful age. They say whatever comes out of their mouths-really. One day I was showing a slideshow that I had made of Japan (believe it or not we have to teach these children about Japan and they don’t even know they live in Ashburn). Well anyway after the slideshow, I ask the students if they had any questions (which is a loaded question in itself and can take you places you rather not go). One little hand went up and the student asked, "Is this real or are you making all this up?" I gave up-yes I made the whole thing up and spent lots of time and energy making a slideshow about a country that doesn’t exist---it is my job (that is what I wanted to say). Don’t I have a wonderful imagination---kiss my brain (that is what you say in kindergarten when you have said something smart).

Current motorcycle(s):  My current motorcycle is a V-Star 650 (Yamaha). I did have a Suzuki ---- but I traded it in because I wanted a bigger gas tank and the touring bikes seemed liked the next step but not too big.

How long have you been riding?
I received my license almost two years ago (I think) after taking the safety class.

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?

What was your first bike?
I did have a Suzuki ---- but I traded it in because I wanted a bigger gas tank and the touring bikes seemed liked the next step but not too big. My Suzuki S-50 had 2000 miles on it when I traded it in and my bike now has almost 1000 although last summer, I did very little riding.

How many bikes have you owned?

Why do you ride?
I first started riding because my husband was riding and thought it would be a challenge I would like to take on. And I did!! The best part was completing the safety class all on my own!!! From there it was a natural sequence of events and or challenges I wanted to overcome-really. My husband was attending SCRC meetings and socials and the members gave me the confidence to do it. Now, I enjoy riding. I especially like the country roads with some twisties where they are often off the beaten path. My favorite riding route is early in the morning on Lime Kiln Road and through Purceville and then the back road in through Leesburg near the high school. That was the first country road Steve took me on and it remains my favorite today. I do have to admit it is still a challenge every time I get on my bike. I guess because I have more of a respect for life and how precious it is. It is truly a gift. Life is truly a journey-and it is a great ride!!!

Have you ridden with an organized group before?

What modifications have you done to your bike?
My V-Star is a Silverado so it came with the saddle bags, backrest and the floor boards. Right now, Doug is putting risers on and a louder horn on my bike.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?
Eventually, I would like to lower the windshield a little, but other than that I am perfectly happy with my bike and plan on keeping it for a long time.

If you have a nickname, how did you get it? Tell the truth!
I don’t have a nickname, but I did have a student once call me Mrs. Radical (and it was one of those students I didn’t want to correct because I figured Mrs. Radical would have more of an impact-ha!). That didn’t work.

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
Probably 70 miles an hour.

What is your favorite time of year to ride?
Hands down spring.

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?
Yes--I have dropped my bike twice. Once in a gas station and the first time I rode it. I was on it for about 2 minutes.

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?
No and I probably won’t. It isn’t something I have to prove to my self.

Do you know how to work on your bike?
You have got to be kidding!!! I work on keeping in the upright position.

Off the cuff from...MrsRadical
Well I guess that is about it. Hope you enjoyed reading this. I appreciate the honor to be asked to share a little about myself. I don’t have a picture of current bike, but this was my first bike.