SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - June, 2008

Name:   Dave Stoll

Nickname:   Doc

Marital Status:  Gayle and I have been married for 7 years.

Location:  Leesburg, VA

Hometown:  Kirkland, IL

Children:  I have three stepchildren. Aaron, 20, Samantha, 18, and Gage 13.

Age:  29

Occupation:  Consulting, Hypnotist

Current motorcycle(s):  2003 VStar 1100 Custom, 1985 Honda Goldwing 1200 SE

How did you hear about the SCRC and when did you join?
I found SCRC Loudoun online. I was looking for a local group to ride with that wasn't motorcycle manufacturer specific. I joined SCRC about two years ago.

How long have you been riding?
Well, I've had an M-Class license for about three years. Anything before that doesn't count right? :)

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?
Yes. When I wanted to finally get my M in 2005 I took a basic rider course. I loved it. It was fun and I got a lot of practice maneuvering at slow speed.

What was your first bike?
1970 Honda CB175.

How many bikes have you owned?
Five total. A '70 Honda CB175, a '70 Honda CB450, a 1980 Yamaha XS850, 2003 VStar 1100 and now an 1985 Honda Goldwing.

Why do you ride?
First and foremost, I love the feeling of the breeze around me, being able to smell and see nature. But these days, with the price of gasoline what it is, I ride a lot out of necessity to save money on gas.

Have you ridden with an organized group before?
Not before SCRC.

What modifications have you done to your bike?
Not as many as I'd like... Windshield, Mustang seat, throw over bags, J&M CB/Intercom, LED conversion for all lights, four way flashers.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?
Grips, pegs, leatherlyke bags, luggage rack, pods and exhaust.

What is your dream bike?
Hmm, well, I haven't actually picked up the Goldwing yet, so until I ride it I'm still undecided. It's between a Goldwing, Venture and HD Ultra Classic.

What kind of riding do you like to do — straight-aways or twisties?
That depends. Gayle doesn't like scraping pegs very much, but I love it. So, twisties are my favorite.

If you have a nickname, how did you get it? Tell the truth!
Doc. Well, back in middle school I had much longer hair. When my hair gets longer it turns curly. Some kids in my class thought that my longer hair reminded them of Doc Emmit Brown from "Back to the Future". It stuck.

What is your favorite riding route?
There are so many good routes in this area. US211 and the blue ridge parkway are among my favorites.

Do you ride your bike to work?
Pretty much every day.

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
Well, on the VStar, I've been up to around 90mph. On my XS850 I had it into triple digits a couple times.

What is your favorite time of year to ride?

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?
I've never been in a serious accident. Only dropped a bike a couple times on gravel and in a parking lot once. I learned no front brake on gravel and be careful where you park, that grease spot the car before you left can cause an awfully slippery mount-up when you return to your bike.

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?
No. I'd like to, but I doubt Gayle would accompany me on such an adventure.

If not, what is the furthest you’ve ridden?
About 500 miles. I rode up to Boston, MA last summer for the 4th of July. It was a nice ride, but definitely proved I needed a better seat.

What was the worst weather in which you’ve ridden?
Pouring down rain in a thunderstorm more than once.

Do you know how to work on your bike?
Well, yes and no. I do almost all my own work, but I frequently consult others who have done the work before me for tips and tricks.

What is your favorite road song?
Jeesh. Anything from Toby Keith to REO Speedwagon. I listen to everything.

What was your most adventurous ride?
I'd have to say leaving on a trip to Boston a couple days after I bought the V-Star. I had a lot of fun on that trip. I'd like to do more cross-country type rides.

What rallies or events do you like to attend?
Well, I've done RT the past two years. One year I'd like to get down to Daytona and out to Sturgis.

Is there someone who rides "two-up" with you?
My wife Gayle rides regularly with me. Also my kids from time to time, but mostly in town for them.