SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - January, 2009

Name:   Roger James

Nickname:   Smokey

Marital Status:  Married

Location:  Leesburg, VA

Hometown:  Arlington, VA

Children:  Yes

Age:  45

Occupation:  Engineer

Current motorcycle(s):  Road King

How did you hear about the SCRC and when did you join?
Saw the group in the parking lot on the weekends and stopped to ask. Joined about two years ago.

How long have you been riding?
25 Years

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?

What was your first bike?
Honda 750 Night hawk

How many bikes have you owned?

Why do you ride?

Have you ridden with an organized group before?

What modifications have you done to your bike?
Seat, pipes, lights, lot of misc chrome.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?
I would like to chrome the front end.

What is your dream bike?
HD Street Glide.

What kind of riding do you like to do — straight-aways or twisties?
Little of both.

If you have a nickname, how did you get it? Tell the truth!
My wife’s nickname is bandit so the first thing I thought of was smokey.

What is your favorite riding route?
Going west with a little combo of twisties and straights.

Do you ride your bike to work?

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
Around 100mph.

What is your favorite time of year to ride?
Spring and fall.

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?

If not, what is the furthest you’ve ridden?
300 miles in one day.

What was the worst weather in which you’ve ridden?
Heavy thunderstorm.

Do you know how to work on your bike?
For the most part.

What is your favorite road song?
Free Bird.

What was your most adventurous ride?
Can't recall.

What rallies or events do you like to attend?
Don't really attend rallies, been to a few small ones.

Is there someone who rides "two-up" with you?
My wife.