SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - July, 2010

Name:   Christine Keefer

Nickname:   Chris, Chrissy, Chiquitina

Marital Status: a pretty decent guy :-)

Location:  This sounds like a loaded question...location for?? Right now my location is at the kitchen table in Herndon, I guess I'll leave it at that!

Hometown:  Born in Akron, Ohio but raised in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico. So, hometown would be Mayaguez.

Children:  Two, Sonya who just turned 14 and Patrick 10 about to be 11 as he reminds me!

Age:  29 of course but continue to celebrate anniversaries of this date...up to 18 anniversaries to date!

Occupation:  It's complicated! Stay at home mom but have my own custom framing business in the house. Currently working for the Census, what a mess the govt is!!!

Current motorcycle(s):  I'm riding a Yamaha 1300 Royal Star Deluxe.

How did you hear about the SCRC and when did you join?
The lovely Julie Geery told us about it over drinks one night! Thanks Jules!

How long have you been riding?
Since Rick tricked me into in back in February of 2004.

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?
Yes. Took it after having my learners permit for about 5 months.

What was your first bike?
A Suzuki 800 Intruder.

How many bikes have you owned?

Why do you ride?
It beats laying on a couch talking to a therapist at $150/hour.

Have you ridden with an organized group before?
"Organized" might be a bit of an exaggeration.

What modifications have you done to your bike?
Just a few extra chrome pieces.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?
Would love to have a cup holder but the handle bars are already a little crowded...we'll see.

What is your dream bike?
Dunno yet, I'm still dreaming!

What kind of riding do you like to do — straight-aways or twisties?
A combo. Don't really enjoy riding as fast as humanly possible!

If you have a nickname, how did you get it? Tell the truth!
My nicknames are derived from my name except for Chiquitina, that's what my Dad called me. It means little one in Spanish.

What is your favorite riding route?
The one that brings me home at the end of the day.

Do you ride your bike to work?
Already there!

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
About 95 or so.

What is your favorite time of year to ride?

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?
Have dropped it a few times but nothing more...whew!

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?

If not, what is the furthest you’ve ridden?
Cleveland, Ohio or Myrtle hand don't know which is further.

What was the worst weather in which you’ve ridden?
Pouring rain, the kind that soaks your boots for a week!

Do you know how to work on your bike?
Can change the battery if I have to but that's about it!

What is your favorite road song?
Crazy Bitch!

What was your most adventurous ride?
Riding down to Richmond to go to a Cage the Elephant with Rick. He rode bitch on my bike on the way there!

What rallies or events do you like to attend?
Have enjoyed Myrtle Beach, Delmarva, Gettysburg.

Is there someone who rides "two-up" with you?
The kids.

Off the cuff from...Chris, Chrissy, Chiquitina
Before I started riding, I never even dreamed of it. I do have to thank Rick for getting me to overcome my fears and realizing that I could have fun riding a motorcycle. It really boosts my ego when I pick up Sonya at school and other kids says things like "wow, your mom is sooooo coool!!!" Leaves me grinning for the rest of the day!! It's also been an absolute pleasure and privilege to get to know the members of the club and ride with you. You have really made Rick and I feel welcome and part of your wonderful group. Thanks!!