SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - March, 2012

Name:   Michael Garbus

Nickname:   Kingfish

Marital Status:  Married 24 years!

Location:  Aldie, VA

Hometown:  Born on Long Island, NY – Hicksville
Raised in New Orleans, LA

Children:  Two Sons: Jacob 20 and Daniel 18

Age:  Turning 49 this summer!

Occupation:  Capture Manager for IT business - Federal Civilian Sector

Current motorcycle(s):  Kawasaki Vulcan 900

How did you hear about the SCRC and when did you join?
A friend of mine, Chris Borkoski, recommended SCRC.

How long have you been riding?
I have been riding for slightly less than 2 years. In August 2010, I rode for the first time during the MSF course in Winchester.

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?
Yes, August 2010 – was my first time on a motorcycle. I passed the class. Then, after some experience with my bike, I took the advanced MSF class also in Winchester. I passed that too. :)

What was your first bike?
This is my first bike – I bought it in 2010 and it was a 2008 model year with 3000 miles.

How many bikes have you owned?
Only 1

Why do you ride?
It was all an experiment. Over the years, I had thought about riding as some friends and neighbors brought their bikes around. But, I had never thought seriously. One day, out of the blue, I called around and found the MSF class. They had an opening and I thought, “why not”. I would take the class and see if I liked it. If I didn’t like it or felt uncomfortable, I would stop.

Then, I went over to the DMV and got my license. And then, I bought the bike. Well, I liked it a lot. I enjoy the wind in my face and the feeling of freedom. I still feel very much like a novice.

Have you ridden with an organized group before?
SCRC is my first experience. I especially like our railroad crossing signal!

What modifications have you done to your bike?
I upgraded the seat and sissy bar.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?

What is your dream bike?
I am not sure yet. But, I am starting to get the itch to have a slightly bigger bike that gives me the ability to ride for a little longer in the saddle.

What kind of riding do you like to do — straight-aways or twisties?
I like some gentle curves and especially when I am familiar with the road conditions.

If you have a nickname, how did you get it? Tell the truth!
So, I have thought about our nicknames and decided to “re-use” my CB Radio Handle – Kingfish. I grew up in New Orleans and Huey P. Long was required reading in history. “Every Man a King” was his motto. If you watch Seinfeld, you could also say, “king of the castle, master of your domain.”

What is your favorite riding route?
I have enjoyed a ride from my house in Aldie, west on Route 50 past Paris, VA to a left on Howelsville Road. This follows the river to a high water crossing. Then, continues over to White Post and eventually back to Route 50. I usually return the longest way that I can.

Do you ride your bike to work?

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
Not fast.

What is your favorite time of year to ride?
I like just a little nip in the air.

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?
Not yet.

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?

If not, what is the furthest you’ve ridden?
200 miles.

What was the worst weather in which you’ve ridden?
I try to stay out of the rain.

Do you know how to work on your bike?
No, but this may be one of my future goals.

What is your favorite road song?
So, music is a fun thing for me. My older son, Jacob, is a jazz musician. He plays the saxophone and is in college at a conservatory studying Jazz. I love to ride while listening to him jam. Of course, sometimes it’s nice to hear his idols, like Dexter Gordon or Coltrane. So, I have really enjoyed some tunes in by helmet.

What rallies or events do you like to attend?
I have been to two: Rattle the Runway and 9/11 Ride. They were fun.

Is there someone who rides "two-up" with you?
I have taken my wife from my house to lunch in Middleburg and back. She likes it but not as much as I do. In this case, I think we may stick to a little separateness.

Off the cuff from...Kingfish
From 1995 to 2000, my family and I lived in Switzerland. It was a wonderful experience and we miss Europe and that lifestyle. We’re planning our first trip back – in September. I need to do some investigating about perhaps renting a bike. I wonder if any of our members have experience with this. I can imagine that it would be a great thrill to ride some of the mountain passes.