SCRC Loudoun VA Featured Member - February, 2013


Name:   Paolo Verrone

Marital Status:  Single

Location:  Sterling, VA

Hometown:  Born in Rome Italy, grew up in Rockville Maryland

Children:  0

Age:  N/A

Occupation:  Sales

Current motorcycle(s):  Suzuki C109

How did you hear about the SCRC and when did you join?
Rolling Thunder.

How long have you been riding?
Rode Dirt bikes as kid / Street bike 6 years.

Have you ever taken a motorcycle safety course?
Yes

What was your first bike?
YZ-125

How many bikes have you owned?
3

Why do you ride?
To get away from cell phones and email, best therapy out there.

Have you ridden with an organized group before?
Just SCRC.

What modifications have you done to your bike?
Added Hard Krome 3" Big Straight pipes, highway pegs, gel seat, wind shield, sissy bar and engine guard.

What accessories do you want to add to your bike?
New light bar.

What is your dream bike?
None at this time.

What kind of riding do you like to do — straight-aways or twisties?
Mixture of both.

If you have a nickname, how did you get it? Tell the truth!
When I was in the Army while stationed at Ft Bragg I woke up one morning hugging a goose blow up doll and feathers in my bed. To this day I still don't know what happened that night - Barracks jungle juice will do that to you. That was the first time I got the nick name Goose. It lasted through out my active duty career. 4 years ago on my annual golf trip in Myrtle I drank a fifth of Grey Goose during a round and once again the name Goose came back.

What is your favorite riding route?
I like all rides that get me away and off the highway.

Do you ride your bike to work?
I do ride sometimes depending on how many meetings I have.

What is the fastest you’ve ridden?
125 - I opened her up one day on 270. I would have probably pushed a little more but caught a bug on the cheek that slowed me down quick and never really pushed that much again.

What is your favorite time of year to ride?
I like end of summer - long days and great weather.

Have you ever been down? If so, how were you hurt and what did you learn from the incident?
No.

Have you ever done an "Iron Butt" ride?
No.

If not, what is the furthest you’ve ridden?
400 Miles - rode down to Myrtle Beach one year.

What was the worst weather in which you’ve ridden?
Hail Storm.

Do you know how to work on your bike?
Changing and adding parts is the only thing I can do.

What is your favorite road song?
Country Boy Can Survive

What was your most adventurous ride?
Riding through a hail storm coming back from Ocean City.

What rallies or events do you like to attend?
Myrtle Beach Bike Week.

Is there someone who rides "two-up" with you?
No.

Off the cuff from...Paolo
I served Active Duty Army from 1985 - 1993 and 1993 - 2000 with DC National Guard and took a early retirement. While on Active Duty I was stationed and Ft Bragg NC with the 82nd Airborne Division ( A Battery 319th FA) , Vicenza Italy with D Battery 319th FA part of the 325 Airborne Combat Team , last 2 years of active duty in Vicenza was moved to the 559th FA NATO Special weapons unit and with DC National Guard I was part of 260th Military Police Brigade, when I got my bike it was like being reborn and was able to enjoy life again.